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Supreme Court Decisions and Rule 

Clarifications 


• Impound Questions: 

o	 Can I pack my machine into the sizing box nice and tight, then expand it 
out onto the table in the full potential starting area of the zone? 

NO! Your machine should fit into the sizing box in its starting 
configuration. You cannot break your machine down into a bunch 
of pieces, force it into the box, and then expand it back out on the 
table. When you have set up your machine on the starting zone, it 
must still fit within the volume of the sizing box. You have a wide 
variety of options for where you locate this virtual sizing box, as 
long as it remains within the starting zone. The sizing box may 
not bulge and the lid must fit on and close. 

o	 Why is the sizing box 16" by 16" by 25.8"? 

Check your lecture notes for the golden rectangle. . . 

o Do I need to have a control box and battery on my machine at impound? 

The control box and battery do not count towards the 10lb weight 
limit. However, you do need to show that your machine will fit 
into the sizing box with these items installed. 

•	 Scoring: 

o	 How can I get three blocks into the 80 point bin? It looks like it can only 



fit two on the web! Also, can I squish more blocks into a bin? 

The 80 point bin is deep enough to hold three blocks. Note that 
blocks that are not completely within the vertical boundaries of 
the bin do not count. It is extremely difficult to force more blocks 
into the bin without damaging something, so you cannot force 
four blocks into the space of the bin.  You may stack as many 
blocks as you want on top of the side bins.  All blocks that fit 
within the confines of the walls extended vertically will count.  
You may only receive the multiplier for the first three blocks in 
the bin. 

o	 Does the scoring multiplier work for three bricks in the 80 point bin? 

Yes, since they are all vertical. Examples are found on the rules 
page. 

o	 Do the extra points for a marked face count in the 80 point bin? 

Yes. 

o	 What happens if my block is hanging out of the bin a little bit? 

For the bottom row valued at 10 points - A block not completely 
in the bin does not count. A block will considered “in” the bin 
when no part of the brick protrudes across the entrance or exit 
plane of the bin. The judges will determine "in"-ness by running a 
straight edge along the face of the bins. Any blocks that are hit by 
the straight edge will not score. Partial blocks do not receive a 
score. 
For the top three rows valued greater than 20, 40, and 60 points - 
If at least 50% of a block is within the bin, it will be scored.  The 
referees will measure the block as necessary to determine the 
percentage of block in the bin. The straight edge rule does NOT 
apply to the top rows of bins. 
For the side bins, You may stack as many blocks as you want into 
the side bins. All blocks that fit within the confines of the walls 
extended virtually will count.  You may only receive the 
multiplier for the first three blocks in the bin.  

o	 What happens if my machine is still touching a block in a bin at the end 
of the round? 

If your machine is still in contact with the block at the end of the 
contest, the block still counts for score.  If you machine is still 
moving after the contest ends, the judges will have discretion as to 



whether the block counts. 

How will blocks in the side bins be counted for the three or four block 
multipliers? 

A line will be drawn on the 80 point bins extending off the bottom 
edge of the top row of bins. Any block completely above this line 
will count for multipliers in the top row (60 point row).  Any 
block completely below the line will count for multipliers in the 
second from the top row (40 point row).  Any block that crosses 
the line will not be counted for either multiplier.  This line has no 
effect on the three block multiplier for placing three blocks 
vertically into the bin and all blocks in the bin still receive 80 
points per block. 

o	 How much do the blocks weigh? 

The blocks are made of lightweight foam. The blocks are 
approximately 8 inches on a side. Measurements of the weight of 
the scoring items can be made anytime during lab.  

o	 Can I come up with a device to remove my opponent's blocks or block 
the bins? 

Yes, as long as you have satisfied the requirements for crossing 
the line. Also, make sure that you read the court decisions 
regarding aggression. 

o	 If I intentionally or unintentionally move my blocks to the opponents side 
before scoring will I be penalized?   

So, the rules don't explicitly prohibit you from moving your 
blocks onto your opponent's side of the table. Feel free to do so 
and you don't have to worry about accidentally pushing them 
over. However, you may want to make sure to completely think 
through the risks of using this move as a strategy. If you push 
your blocks across and the tiniest, little, itsy-bitsy part of you 
machine crosses the line, you will get hit with the penalty. If you 
manage to get lots of blocks across the line without crossing it, 
then you end up hurting yourself as you lose those blocks until 
you score. By the time you could move the blocks across the line 
without getting docked points, the other person can probably 
score or get out of the way already. Lots of ways to lose with little 
benefit = potentially risky strategy.  



o What happens if I run out of blocks? Can I use my opponent's blocks? 

Only use your opponent's blocks if you want to score for your 
opponent. Each player is limited to the number of blocks on the 
table at the start of the contest. 

o	 What happens if I have three blocks in a segment and my opponent puts 
his block in the fourth spot? Do either of us get credit for the four blocks 
in a segment? 

No. You may only receive the scoring multiplier if the blocks are 
all of your color. The colored blocks must be contiguous to count 
(eg. blue - blue - red - blue across a row does not count for a three 
or four block multiplier). Examples are found on the rules page. 

o	 Do blocks in the 80 point bin count as being in a segment with the rest of 
the bins? 

Yes, but only if the block falls within a row of the main bins. In 
other words, the first block in the 80 point bin would count as 
being in the 40 point row, while the third block in the 80 point bin 
would count as being in the 60 point row. A second block in the 
80 point bin would not line up to be completely in one of these 
rows, so it would not count. Examples are found on the rules 
page. 

o	 I have a question about the scoring multiplier. Is the multiplier only 
applied to your score at the time when the multiplier is activated, or is the 
multiplier applied to your final score at the end of the round?  

The scoring system updates continually throughout the duration of 
the contest. So, your score will be automatically updated if you 
earn a multiplier. However, if your opponent removes a block 
from the multiplier combo, the multiplier will be removed and the 
score will be updated based on the new configuration of blocks. 

•	 Aggression on an Opponent: 

o	 May we throw the other robot out of the playing field? 

If you do it nicely and with love and no malice....you are just 



helping them to explore new horizons. . . 

o	 May we flip our opponent over onto its backside? 

…and help them show the audience their awesome underbelly 
paint job? of course! BUT this is NOT Battlebots....if you get too 
violent about flipping or your focus is disabling your opponent 
while doing nothing to score. . . . the judges will disqualify you. 
History has shown that actively blocking (pinning them against 
the wall) is one of the best strategies (use a Molestabot, maybe 
one that is part of main robot, and then it detaches and the main 
robot goes and does its scoring thing). Active scoring strategies 
are encouraged over negative spoiling tactics. 

o	 Would my opponent be disqualified for repeatedly ramming into a part of 
my machine, such as a barricade, until it breaks?  

No, if you build a barricade and it is in your opponent's way. You 
are responsible for building a wimpy barricade.... else we will 
have a nightmare of judging. Beware of barricades that can cause 
entanglement problems. 

o	 If our opponent has clamped onto the table and we try to lift them off and 
accidentally rip a part of the table off do we get disqualified? Or do they? 

It will be the judges’ discretion, BUT it is not likely that they will 
be upset over this. 

o	 I am a little uncertain about the crossing the line rule. If my opponent 
meets the requirements by placing blocks in the bins, can I then cross the 
line? 

No. If your opponent has met the crossing requirements, you may 
not cross until your opponent has crossed the line. If you cross the 
line without having met the requirements, you will be penalized. 
However, if your opponent has met the requirements and crossed 
the line, you may also cross the line. 

o	 If my opponent crosses the line without scoring. will I get penalized if I 
then cross the line without meeting the scoring requirements? 

No. Only the first person to illegally cross the line will be 
penalized. 



•	 Projectiles: 

o	 Can an un-tethered part detach from my robot to hinder my opponent or 
to help me score (not a projectile or a net)? 

Sure! Be careful about offensive tactics - you must satisfy the 
criteria for crossing the line before ANY part of your machine can 
cross the line. 

o	 Can my machine shoot projectiles? 

Yes! BUT, remember a few things -  
1. The naked phone booth rule always applies. If you are afraid to 
have someone point your projectile shooter at you, it probably is 
not a good idea. Prof. Slocum or your lab instructors will give 
definitive answers on the risk of specific projectile designs.  
2. If you have a tether attached to your projectiles, be sure that it 
does not become entangled in anything. Using tethers as nets or 
bolas is not allowed. Historically, judges will re-run a contest 
where a machine is accidentally entangled by a tether. The judges 
view repeated entanglements with extreme unhappiness. 

o	 Are bolas (two weights tethered together with *one* rope) allowed? 
Technically, it's not a net, which is explicitly disallowed in the rules. 
However, it can still be used to entangle in a similar fashion.  

No, you may not use a bola or any other such device!! N weights 
tethered together still count as a bola. It is entanglement that we 
do not allow!!!! (not even Battlebots allows them!).  

o	 May we throw untethered objects onto the playing field? 

The judges have been thinking about this, and we have decided 
that we will not allow anyone to launch a bunch of random 
obstacles. It is not in the spirit of the competition (great 
mechanical design and strategy vs. great mechanical design and 
strategy). Untethered projectiles are allowed, but not 
recommended. As always, remember that the naked phone booth 
rule applies. 

o	 In the rules, it explicitly states that no nets are allowed. However, the 
Supreme Court Decisions elaborate to say that it is intentional 
entanglement in any form that is not allowed. Is it allowable to use a 
string-mesh net in a case where there is no intent to entangle (i.e., as a 



collection device for scoring mass?)  

That is a real tough question . . . If you string a net and someone 
gets caught in it, even if you have no intent to entangle them, you 
are still liable and will be disqualified under the rules. There 
otherwise would be far too many "meshas" that were there for 
"gathering with no intent". 

•	 Autonomous Robots: 

o	 Is it allowable to have a completely autonomous robot? 

Sure, BUT you cannot add batteries or other power sources. You 
can only use the wireless control system and power electronics we 
provide. You may add any other electronics you wish 
(microprocessors, filters, resistors, pretty blinking lights, etc), but 
be mindful of the weight limit! Also be careful of the complexity 
of an autonomous system, as there may be incredibly simple and 
robust solutions that are purely mechanical. Always make sure 
you have a countermeasure for the risk that the control system 
doesn't work.  

o	 The stuff I've seen on the course web page about sub-robots involves 
tethers and what you can't do with them. Do sub-robots *need* to be 
tethered? (i.e., an autonomous sub-robot powered by the motors.)  

Nope. You can have sub-robots controlled separately with a 
wireless control system on the main robot. If your robot will be 
using any wireless communications, be sure that they don't 
interfere with the table control system's radio frequencies. Some 
very useful and disruptive strategies can be formed with an 
independent machine that doesn't require any communication. 
However, you only have one battery to do all this with! 

o	 May our robot have different modules that can be swapped before rounds 
depending on the opponent? 

Absolutely, that is an excellent example of good design and 
strategy! But you will have to show at impoundment that each 
configuration of your machine meets weight and size limits in 
their specific starting configuration. 



• Kit Questions:


o	 I've been told that in past years that handy boards have been permitted. Is 
this true?  

You are allowed to do your own electronics, so if you want to, 
you can use a handy board and make an autonomous 
system....BUT you cannot add batteries or other power sources.  

o	 I'm confused about additions. if people are allowed to add programmable 
electronics. What are we allowed to and not allowed to add as far as 
materials that are not in our kits?  

We have always allowed people to use wire and logic, but no 
added power or motors (unless you build your own from 
scratch....not worth the effort). Every year some students ask 
about this, and we say "OK" and most students don't end up using 
it. You may not add any other items or substitute any other 
materials, except for fasteners. 

o	 Can we exchange or trade kit materials? 

No, the kit is “as is”. You are allowed to buy your own fasteners 
and adhesives and electronic bits…that’s it! See the kit page for 
information on replacements and exchanges and such. 

o	 Are we allowed to construct our own pneumatic pistons? I know there 
was some confusion in past years, and I want to be absolutely sure at the 
beginning of this contest? 

The only problem is we are not offering pneumatic lines, its an 
all-electric contest. The table is too big and the hassle of the lines 
makes it impractical. This also addresses the safety issues of 
pressurized containers. Anything you could want to do can be 
done with electric motors and screws. You can construct pistons 
to be used with the syringes, but that may prove impractical. 

o	 To what extent may we process the kit materials? For instance, would it 
be permissible to heat-treat and anneal steel parts to make springs, or to 
turn the wood into sawdust and make a fiberboard material from that 
sawdust and an adhesive? 



You can heat treat to your hearts delight....You can also grind and 
glue. 

o	 Also, to what extent can copper wire be used? In past contests, it was said 
that non-kit electrical wire could be used to bear a load. What limits are 
there to the acceptable use of wire?  

You can only use wire as electrical elements....else we will have 
people melting wire and making stuff.... You have more stuff in 
your kits than you can imagine. Focus your creative energies on 
using what you have as it is. Create a strategy and concepts that 
kicks butt with it as is. Please note that you must have a drawing 
before using the large machines (milling machines, lathes, water 
jet, etc). The shop guys will help you process the parts, but they 
will not make the parts for you. Drawings are not necessary, but 
are highly suggested, before processing materials using machines 
in the general area (belt sanders, drill presses, etc). 

o	 Will we be able to use flexible plastic/rubber tubing? It is not on the kit 
parts list, probably because its main purpose was as pneumatic tubing, 
but it was also the best material with which to make compliant motor 
shaft couplings? 

We will NOT provide hose as coupling material. Instead, we 
recommend that you consider the cheap brass or aluminum 
couplings. 

o May we use the syringes as elements of a simple hydraulic system? 

You may NOT create any fluid system (fluids are NOT part of the 
kit). You may create a pneumatic system if you want to, but only 
using elements in the kit. 

o Are Velcro and zip-ties fasteners? 

Yes, Velcro is a fastener, but you have to supply your own. Zip-ties are 
provided for cable management purposes and may be used to attach 
motors as described in the lecture notes. You may not use velcro, zip ties, 
or tape for any major structural purposes 

Could you tell me if we're allowed to use Velcro to fasten an object to the 
contest table? 

You can use Velcro hooks to stick to the carpet, but you CANNOT use adhesive 
backed velcro and stick the adhesive side to the table, because it could leave a 
film. Also, you cannot damage the carpet (velcro will not) by using other 



fasteners, such as screws or pointy bits of metal! Note that the starting area will 
be painted and your velcro may not stick! 

May I make creative use of rubber bands? 

Yes you may, BUT they can store no energy (prior to the machines starting) that 

will be released once the contest starts.  

Why? Because they are notorious for breaking and causing premature unintended 

release, which with some mechanisms can cause an owie. 


Can I use a filter capacitor on the battery pack? Also, can I charge the 
capacitors before the round starts?  

Yes you can. But, you can only charge the capacitors from the batteries you will 
use in that contest. The charging can start only after you have placed your 
machine on the contest table. You will be responsible for discharging them after 
the contest is over (use a lightbulb). 

Safety: 

o What is the "Naked Phone Booth rule"? 

DO NOT create any machine you are not willing to get into a phone 
booth with, where you are naked while your machine is operating in there 
with you (so no spinning spikes, flaming wheels of death, etc). 

Table and Scoring Elements: 

o	 If I use sandpaper to grip the lexan, the plastic will probably get a little 
scratched up. Does this count as destroying the table. i.e. for disqualification? 

You should be fine. 

o	 Can you start with things dug into the carpet, to hold a machine from 
lifting off? 

Not if you hurt our carpet. In other words, I should not be able to tell the 



difference before/after. Now, if you have dug in and someone rams you 
and little tufts appear, that’s OK, we will trim them, BUT you cannot 
then complain that the carpet is not letting you grab a good hold. It will 
be what it is. 

o Is the contest table somehow coated, painted,...?  

The contest table is constructed as follows: 
- The base and some surfaces are constructed of wood.  
- The top playing surface is covered in carpet. Starting zones, block 
locations, etc may be painted or marked in some manner that changes the 
consistency of the carpet. 
- There are plastic walls around the entire table to prevent things from 
running away. The walls are not painted or coated. 

o Can I grab onto the blocks with a skewer or pitch fork? 

NO! You may not alter the physical integrity of the blocks in any way. 
This means that you may not use screws, pointy bits of welding rod, 
sharp bits of metal cut on the band saw, etc. If you destroy the blocks, 
you may be disqualified. Also, recall the naked phone booth rule. 
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