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FAQ, Supreme Court Decisions, and Rule Clarifications  

Size Questions:
 Can I pack my machine into the FREM box nice and tight, then expand it out onto the table in the full 
potential starting area of the zone? 
NO! Your machine should fit into the FREM box in its starting configuration.  You cannot break your 

machine down into a bunch of pieces, force it into the FREM box, and then expand it back out on the 

table. When you have set up your machine on the starting zone, it must still fit within the volume of the 

FREM box. You have a wide variety of options for where you locate this virtual FREM box (2 inches 

outside the plastic side walls, up to 21 inches above the playing surface, on the rail, etc).  

Scoring by the Scales: 
May we place our robot (or the opponent!) in the scoring bin to increase our mass score? 
NO! Only pucks and ball may used as weight on the scales. 

Can we use machines that push down on the scale? i.e. not trying to collect mass or spin the pyramid 
tables, just a big power screw, clamp it to the wall, and let it go.   
NO! Only pucks and ball may used as weight on the scales. 

If the scales register a negative mass, will this be used for scoring purposes? 
Scales will NOT register negative force. 

How much do the hockey balls and pucks weigh? 
Both the hockey balls and pucks are made of plastic. The balls are approximately 7 cm in diameter while 

the pucks are about 8 cm in diameter and about 3 cm thick. Measurements of the weight of the scoring 

items can be made anytime during lab. 

What happens if I try to scoop balls out of the opponents bucket or block his bucket and my bits and 
pieces fall off in the bin? Will the bits and pieces count as mass for his score? 
No! Only balls and pucks can be used for mass.  If something like this does happen, we will wait until the 

end of the contest, record the rotation, removes the bits and pieces, record the new mass, and re

determine your score using the formula. 

Can we score points with our opponents balls and pucks after we have scored with our own? 
Yes! You absolutely can, as long as you have placed mass on the scale.   

Can my opponent attack me after I have placed mass on my scale or if they have placed mass on my 
scale? 
No! The rule states that each contestant must put weight on his/her own scale before their machine can 

deploy any offensive tactics or cross the line.   



Aggression on your opponent: 
May we throw the other robot out of the playing field? 
If you do it nicely and with love and no malice....you are just helping them to explore new horizons. . . 

May we flip our opponent over onto its backside? 
…and help them show the audience their awesome underbelly paint job?  of course!  BUT this is NOT 

Battlebots....if you get too violent about flipping or your focus is disabling your opponent while doing 

nothing to score. . . . the judges will disqualify you.  History has shown that actively blocking (pinning 

them against the wall) is one of the best strategies (use a Molestabot, maybe one that is part of main 

robot, and then it detaches and the main robot goes and does its scoring thing).  Active scoring strategies 

are encouraged over negative spoiling tactics. 

Would my opponent be disqualified for repeatedly ramming into a part of my machine, such as a 
barricade, until it breaks? 
No, if you build a barricade and it is in your opponent's way. You are responsible for building a wimpy 

barricade....else we will have a nightmare of judging.  Beware of barricades that can cause entanglement 

problems. 

If our opponent has clamped onto the table and we try to lift them off and accidentally rip a part of the 
table off do we get disqualified? Or do they? 
It will be the judges’ discretion, BUT it is not likely that they will be upset over this. 

Please explain more about the rule on offensive tactics? 
No robots will be allowed to cross the line or deploy offensive tactics until after weight has been placed 

on the scale. Offensive techniques include any intentional contact with the opponent's robots or the 

intention that the deployed device will come in contact with the opponent's robots. This includes any sort 

of direct robot-robot blocking or any deployable barriers. Unintentional contact and contact with any part 

of the table (walls, bins, pipes, etc) is still allowed.  Balls or pucks knocked onto the opponent's side 

cannot be retrieved until after you have scored and do not count as an offensive tactic.  The focus of the 

contest is on positive scoring strategies not on negative tactics aiming on the disabling of your opponent. 

See the note above about flipping.  To eliminate confusion, a one inch wide line will be drawn down the 

middle of the table. This line extends to an infinite height above the table.  Any robot intentionally 

crossing this line without scoring points will be disqualified.  The judges at the contest will have the final 

ruling on line crossings. 

Can I make a device that stops the platter from rotating? 
Yes, you can. BUT you may not apply this device on the opponents platter until after you have scored 

points by placing mass on the scale (balls or pucks). You can stop your own platter from rotating any 

time you want. Also, note that you may NOT use a wedge or prying device under the lip of the platter.  

You may only try to stop the platter by applying forces on the platter rim, rubber o-ring, or the top 



surface. If you try to pry up the platter, you will damage the table and be disqualified. 

Did you mean for one inch line to go right through puck stack and not curve around it like on lazy susan? 
If so, this limits opportunities with the pucks before putting mass in my scale. 
The line curves around the pucks, therefore you can attack your own pucks as much as you want before 

loading up the scale.  BUT, if your pucks fall across the line, they are lost to you until after you put a ball 

on the scale. If you knock balls onto the other side of the line, they are also lost to you until after you put 

a ball on the scale. Your opponent can kindly borrow any mass knocked onto his side of the line.  

The wording on the web on offensive tactics and the border line is that we cannot "cross the line."  Can I 
go .999999 etc inches over near the edge of line without crossing it or is it like football, where the rule is 
that anything that breaks the plane of the line is considered crossing the line?  
You can be on the line - but it is a danger zone.  If one atom of your machine goes over onto the other 

side of the line, your machine will go POOF!  

Projectiles and secondary robots: 
Can an un-tethered part detach from my robot to hinder my opponent or to help me score (not a projectile 
or a net)? 
Sure! Be careful about offensive tactics. 

Can my machine shoot projectiles? 
Yes! BUT, remember a few things -

1. The naked phone booth rule always applies.  	If you are afraid to have someone point your 

projectile shooter at you, it probably is not a good idea.  Prof. Slocum or your lab instructors will 

give definitive answers on the risk of specific projectile designs.  

2. Remember that if any part of your machine crosses the one inch dividing line before you place 

mass in the scale, you are disqualified.  This includes any projectiles that miss their target or that 

fall on the other side of the line before mass is on the scale. 

3. If you have a tether attached to your projectiles, be sure that it does not become entangled in 

anything. Using tethers as nets or bolas is not allowed.  

Is it allowable to have a completely autonomous robot? 
Sure, BUT you cannot add batteries or other power sources.  You can only use the wireless control 

system and power electronics we provide.  You may add any other electronics you wish 

(microprocessors, filters, resistors, pretty blinking lights, etc), but be mindful of the weight limit!  Also be 

careful of the complexity of an autonomous system, as there may be incredibly simple and robust 



solutions that are purely mechanical.  Always make sure you have a countermeasure for the risk that the 

control system doesn't work. Please see the autonomous control system instructors listed on the staff 

page for assistance with these sort of systems.   

The stuff I've seen on the course web page about sub-robots involves tethers and what you can't do with 
them. Do sub-robots *need* to be tethered? (i.e., an autonomous sub-robot powered by the motors.) 
Nope. You can have sub-robots powered separately with a wireless control system on the main robot.  If 

your robot will be using any wireless communications, be sure that they don't interfere with the table 

control system's radio frequencies.  Check with the controls instructors to be sure. 

Are bolas (two weights tethered together with *one* rope) allowed?  Judging from our lab group's 
discussion, their use seems to be ok.  Technically, it's not a net, which is explicitly disallowed in the 
rules. However, it can still be used to entangle in a similar fashion. 
No, you may not use a bola or any other such device!!  It is entanglement that we do not allow!!!! (not 

even Battlebots allows them!). 

May we throw untethered objects onto the playing field? 
The judges have been thinking about this, and we have decided that we will not allow anyone to launch a 

bunch of random obstacles. It is not in the spirit of the competition (great mechanical design and strategy 

vs. great mechanical design and strategy).  Untethered projectiles are allowed, but not recommended.  

Beware of the rules about offensive tactics crossing the line and, as always, remember the naked phone 

booth rule applies. 

May our robot have different modules that can be swapped before rounds depending on the opponent? 
Absolutely, that is an excellent example of good design and strategy!  But you will have to show at 

impoundment that each configuration of your machine meets weight and size limits in their specific 

starting configuration. 

In the rules, it explicitly states that no nets are allowed.  However, the Supreme Court Decisions 
elaborate to say that it is intentional entanglement in any form that is not allowed.  Is it allowable to use a 
string-mesh net in a case where there is no intent to entangle (i.e., as a collection device for scoring 
mass?) 
That is a real tough question . . . If you string a net and someone gets caught in it, even if you have no 

intent to entangle them, you are still liable and will be disqualified under the rules.  There otherwise would 

be far too many "meshas" that were there for "gathering with no intent".  

Kit: 
What are the exact dimensions of the green FREM box? (And therefore the maximum dimensions of the 
robot?) 
The dimensions of the green FREM box are 21 inches by 13 inches with a height of 11 inches or 533 mm 



 

by 330 mm with a height of 279 mm (approximately).  

I've been told that in past years that handy boards have been permitted. 
You are allowed to do your own electronics, so if you want to, you can use a handy board and make an 

autonomous system....BUT you cannot add batteries or other power sources.  Please see above and talk 

to the controls instructors listed on the staff page. 

I'm confused about additions. if people are allowed to add programmable electronics. what are we 
allowed to and not allowed to add as far as materials that are not in our kits? 
We have always allowed people to use wire and logic, but no added power or motors (unless you build 

your own from scratch....not worth the effort).  Every year some students ask about this, and we say "OK" 

and most students don't end up using it.  You may not add any other items or substitute any other 

materials, except for fasteners. 

Can we exchange or trade kit materials? 
No, the kit is “as is”.  You are allowed to buy your own fasteners and adhesives and electronic 

bits…that’s it! Each student is limited to the motors included in their kit.  Check the kit list online to make 

sure you have all your motors. 

Are we allowed to construct our own pneumatic pistons?  I know there was some confusion in past years, 
and I want to be absolutely sure at the beginning of this contest? 
The only problem is we are not offering pneumatic lines, its an all-electric contest.  The table is too big 

and the hassle of the lines makes it impractical.  This also addresses the safety issues. Anything you 

could want to do can be done with electric motors and screws. 

To what extent may we process the kit materials?  For instance, would it be permissible to heat-treat and 
anneal steel parts to make springs, or to turn the wood into sawdust and make a fiberboard material from 
that sawdust and an adhesive? Also, to what extent can copper wire be used?  In past contests, it was 
said that a non-kit electrical wire could be used to bear a load.  What limits are there to the acceptable 
use of wire? 
You can heat treat to your hearts delight....You can also grind and glue.  You can only use wire as 

electrical elements....else we will have people melting wire and making stuff....You have more stuff in 

your kits than you can imagine. Focus your creative energies on using what you have as it is. create a 

strategy and concepts that kicks but with it as is.  Please note that you must have a drawing before using 

the large machines (milling machines, lathes, water jet, etc).  The shop guys will help you process the 

parts, but they will not make the parts for you.  Drawings are not necessary, but are highly suggested, 

before processing materials using machines in the general area (belt sanders, drill presses, etc). 

Will we be able to use flexible plastic/rubber tubing?  It is not on the kit parts list, probably because its 
main purpose was as pneumatic tubing, but it was also the best material with which to make compliant 
motor shaft couplings? 



We will provide hose as coupling material. 

May we use the syringes as elements of a simple hydraulic system? 
You may NOT create any fluid system (fluids are NOT part of the kit).  You may create a pneumatic 

system if you want to, but only using elements in the kit. 

Is Velcro a fastener? 
Yes, but you have to supply your own.   

May I make creative use of rubber bands? 
Yes you may, BUT they can store no energy (prior to the machines starting) that will be released once 


the contest starts. 


Why? Because they are notorious for breaking and causing premature unintended release, which with 


some mechanisms can cause an owie. 


Safety: 
What is the "Naked Phone Booth rule"? 
DO NOT create any machine you are not willing to get into a phone booth with, where you are naked 

while your machine is operating in there with you (so no spinning spikes, flaming wheels of death, etc). 

Table: 
If I use sandpaper to grip the lexan, the plastic will probably get a little scratched up. Does this count as 
destroying the table. i.e. for disqualification?  
You should be fine. 

Can you start with things dug into the carpet, to hold a machine from lifting off?  
Not if you hurt my carpet. In other words, I should not be able to tell the difference before/after. Now, if 

you have dug in and someone rams you and little tufts appear, that’s OK, we will trim them, BUT you 

cannot then complain that the carpet is not letting you grab a good hold. It will be what it is. 

Is the contest table somehow coated, painted,...? 
The contest table is constructed as follows: 

The base is constructed of wood. The top playing surface is covered in carpet.  

There are plastic walls around the entire table to prevent things from running away. The walls are 

not painted or coated. 

The rails running across the table are made of PVC pipe.  

May I extend more than 2 inches beyond the outside of the table after starting?  
Yes! You can extend out as far as you wish. You are only constrained to the Starting Zone with the extra 



2 inches at the start of the contest.  Note that anything that falls of your machine or anything that leaves 

the table cannot be reintroduced to the table.  The only interaction you have is with the controls. 

Can I apply a clamping force to the lazy susan platter? 
Yup! You can apply a force to clamp the platter, but you cannot pry.  Make sure the engineering of your 

clamp is done properly.  If you break the table, you lose.  

I don't see exact dimensions for the location of the pucks on the pictures on the web.  Where are they 
located? 
The location is listed in the text of the table description page as being located halfway between the edge 

of the platter closest to the chasm and the edge of the chasm.  This dimension can also be easily 

measured on the Solid Works CAD Model. 


