Symphony and Concerto

A page from the orchestral score.

The beginning of the final section of the 4th movement of Beethoven's Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral." (Image courtesy of the Internet Music Score Library Project, IMSLP.)


MIT Course Number


As Taught In

Spring 2007



Cite This Course

Course Description

Course Features

Course Description

This course is a survey of significant orchestral masterworks composed during three centuries. Listening assignments include 34 symphonies and 24 concertos, composed from the 1720s to the 1990s. Class discussion and oral presentations focus on the works in 18 miniature scores; prior score-reading experience is helpful. Each of the three written papers reviews a concert attended during the term. Since this is a participatory subject, each student will give oral presentations concerning composers and their symphonies and/or concertos.

Related Content

Lowell Lindgren. 21M.271 Symphony and Concerto. Spring 2007. Massachusetts Institute of Technology: MIT OpenCourseWare, License: Creative Commons BY-NC-SA.

For more information about using these materials and the Creative Commons license, see our Terms of Use.