21M.250 | Spring 2014 | Undergraduate

Beethoven to Mahler

Beethoven Concert

Concert of Beethoven Sonatas

Susanna Ogata, violin

Ian Watson, fortepiano

This concert took place as part of the Handel & Haydn partnership with MIT on February 26, 2014 in Killian Hall.

Violinist Susanna Ogata and English keyboardist Ian Watson are period-instrument specialists. Here, they demonstrate sonatas of Beethoven from a time of crisis and renewal (1801–1803) on fortepiano, a historic instrument that preceded the modern piano and sounds quite different, and period violin.


Sonata for Fortepiano and Violin No. 4 in A minor, Op. 23 (1801)

  • Presto
  • Andante scherzoso, più allegretto
  • Allegro molto

Piano Sonata in A-flat major, Op. 26 (1800–1801)

  • Andante con variazioni

Sonata for Fortepiano and Violin No. 9 “Kreutzer” (1803)

  • Adagio sostenuto–Presto–Adagio
  • Andante con variazioni
  • Presto

Course Info

As Taught In
Spring 2014
Learning Resource Types
Lecture Notes
Written Assignments
Instructor Insights